Setting Up to Love

With my focus being on love this year, I wanted to do a word study on “love”. So this week I have looked specifically at two forms of love and already learned a bunch. I will write more on them later. Today I want to share how I have approached this study. So leading up to 2017 I went through my concordance and found the word “love”, wrote down all of the scripture references, and which Hebrew or Greek word it was (I used Strong’s for this even though my husband has a fancy software that will do it). I then made an index card for each Hebrew or Greek word that is translated as “love” to help me have a quick reference as I study. I was shocked at how many different words were translated as “love”…how could I approach this?       

  • Go in order through scripture starting in Genesis
  • Look at all of the ones Jesus said first
  • Focus on the most used versions 

Because I couldn’t decide how to best attack this word study I asked my sweet hubby how he would approach it. He has way more experience with this sort of thing. He suggested starting with the least used forms of “love” (because there are a ton of versions of love in Hebrew and Greek) and working my way up to the most used forms of love. I decided to put my index cards in order of how I would study them. So far this is working out great! I have my NIV study bible and ESV church bible next to my notebook and pen on the kitchen table to help me get started and focused more quickly. I can’t wait to share what I am learning!

One thought on “Setting Up to Love

Leave a Reply

