Loving God

God has used these past 11 weeks to transform my definition of love. I think he is going to use the rest of my life to teach me about love to be honest. Each day my love for Kyle grows, my love for Hannah deepens, and my love for God is abundantly changed. Jesus tells us to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’” in ‭‭Mark‬ ‭12:30‬. I do not think I will ever be able to complete this command. If you really think about what Jesus is asking of you…it is overwhelming. 


Heart- my heart is so emotional (people tell me it’s the hormones) lately and seems to be on a rollercoaster of a ride. But my heart should be loving God with its entirety. The scripture doesn’t say Love the Lord your God with a piece of your heart or most of your heart. It says with ALL of your heart

Soul- your soul is a weird thing to think about. Dictionary.com defines soul in these ways:

  • the principle of life, feeling, thought, and action in humans, regarded as a distinct entity separate from the body, and commonly held to be separable in existence from the body; the spiritual part of humans as distinct from the physical part.
  • the spiritual part of humans regarded in its moral aspect, or as believed to survive death and be subject to happiness or misery in a life to come

Jesus is asking us to love God with the spiritual part of our beings, not just the physical. Our physical bodies with die, but our souls will live on. I think Jesus is pointing out that our love for God is something that should continue on forever, not just in our physical beings, but in our eternal souls. 

Mind- can anyone control their minds? I’m sure there are some who can or think they can, but I struggle to control my thoughts. My sinful nature thinks judgmentally before I even realize what is going on. Jesus commands us to love God with all of our mind. This includes our thoughts and knowledge. They are to be God loving focused. That is so hard!

Strength- when I think of strength I think of my physical being. Although lately I have prayed more for emotional and mental strength (leaving Hannah each morning is only by strength from the Lord mentally and emotionally). We are supposed to love God with our strength, all of it, physical, mental, and emotional . 

When Jesus is answering the question “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?” He gives us this one. “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’” (‭‭Mark‬ ‭12:30‬). Each morning I pray that God would teach me how to love him this way. Each day I hope to be able to love God this way. Each night I know I have failed, but strive to be able to love God the way Jesus commanded. I hope that God will continue to teach me about love and how to love him for the rest of my physical life and spiritual life. 

Leave a Reply

