The Best Example of Love

While God is teaching me about love I can’t help but read about love in the Bible. I want to know how I can best love Hannah, my husband, God, the church… If God is love, then we have the greatest example of how to love.

 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life” (John‬ ‭3:16‬ ‭NIV‬‬). 

I have an entirely new outlook on this verse since August 10th. My Sunday school teacher even asked me if I would give my daughter back in order to save someone else’s life. I couldn’t help but cry later that night at the thought of giving her up. I would never. And yet God did just that. He sacrificed his son for the lives of sinners. For me. That is how much God loves you and me. Enough to give up Jesus for the chance of a relationship with me. I say chance because of the “whoever believes” part of the verse. We have to believe in order for what Jesus did on the cross to count. God made the sacrifice but we still have a decision to make. The decision to believe in Jesus.  

Do you believe in Jesus? Do you know that he is the son of God? Romans‬ ‭10:9-10‬ says, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.” So today I’m learning just how God loves me. He loves me enough to save me through sacrificing his son. I chose to believe when I was a child, but have you made that choice?

Leave a Reply

