Giving

Give up material wealth if necessary to give spiritual wealth. One of the points in our pastor’s sermon this week was worded something similar to that (pregnancy brain 😕). It brought me to tears thinking about his point. I’m not sure I heard too much after that because I was stuck on this point. Give up material wealth if necessary to give spiritual wealth. 
We all have money issues. We either don’t have money and that is the issue, or we do have money and it becomes an issue. I’ll admit that I am in the first category. No money here, and yes it is an issue many times. But our lack of material wealth doesn’t mean that we lack in spiritual wealth. It doesn’t mean that we aren’t called to give. And honestly, if I had to pick one type of wealth over the other I would chose spiritual wealth everyday of the week. 

But how many times am I called to give material wealth in order to affect someone else’s spiritual wealth? How many times does my flesh stop me from giving as I should? I couldn’t help but think about the woman who poured perfume on Jesus’ feet. She had so little to give, but gave it all in an act of worship. Her reward? A huge spiritual wealth gain!

“A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them. When the Pharisee who had invited him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would know who is touching him and what kind of woman she is—that she is a sinner.” Jesus answered him, “Simon, I have something to tell you.” “Tell me, teacher,” he said. “Two people owed money to a certain moneylender. One owed him five hundred denarii, and the other fifty. Neither of them had the money to pay him back, so he forgave the debts of both. Now which of them will love him more?” Simon replied, “I suppose the one who had the bigger debt forgiven.” “You have judged correctly,” Jesus said. Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” Then Jesus said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” The other guests began to say among themselves, “Who is this who even forgives sins?” Jesus said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.””

‭‭Luke‬ ‭7:37-50‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I am a sinful woman who needs Jesus and should be willing to pour out what little I have on His feet. My sin debt is beyond anything I could pay back and Jesus has forgiven it in full. So yes, I have little to give, but I want to give it all in order to further the kingdom, in order for others to learn about having their sins forgiven. I want to give my material wealth in order to influence other’s spiritual wealth. 

Leave a Reply

