Like My Granny

Each of us sees personality traits and physical traits similar to our family members. It’s no different for me. I have my dad’s eyes and mom’s freckles. I get my love of math from my Papa and my knack for creating things with my hands from my Grandma Betty. But I discovered a new similarity between my Granny and myself a few months back. 

When I called to tell Granny the news about being pregnant she was thrilled! But in that same conversation she told me a story I had never heard before. 

When Granny was young and a newlywed she followed her husband (my Papa) all over the country from job to job, college to college, wherever he went she did too. They never prevented having children, but simply waited for God to send them a blessing. They waited, and waited, and waited. For five years they waited for a baby. Five years of wanting and waiting, hoping and praying. 

Finally, they were gifted a baby boy (my dad). My Granny described to me the way she wondered if they would ever have kids and how she had hoped and prayed for a baby for years. I could completely relate and instantly had a connection to her testimony. 

After my dad, she had two more children within 3 years. I hope and pray that the next part of our story is like hers. 

It’s amazing to me that although I have been close with my Granny for years this was the first time I had heard this story. 

Leave a Reply

