All Good Things Must Come to an End

Today was the last day of school. This concluded my fifth year teaching and begins my official transition to fifth grade. It was very bittersweet. 

I love third grade! The age of the students, the content taught, and the lightbulb that comes on right after Christmas break each year. 

I adore the women I work with in third grade! I could not ask for a better group of people to show me how to be an amazing teacher. They have been my friends, work-moms, big sisters, allies, and role models. These are women who lift me up in prayer and surround me with love. I will miss being with them all day everyday. 

But today, I must begin to prepare for new friends in fifth grade. I need to start wrapping my head around the maturity of 10 and 11 year olds. The content will be refreshing and make me work harder at preparing to teach-which I find fun.

So, goodbye third grade. You will be missed. Hello, fifth grade! Let’s do this!

3 thoughts on “All Good Things Must Come to an End

  1. Patricia Dorsey says:

    I totally agree about 3rd graders and the excitement of seeing their sudden maturity after Christmas. That’s why I absolutely loved teaching in 3rd grade for the last 10 years of my professional life. I know that you’ll adjust to the maturity of 5th graders and their ability to really THINK and ANALYZE. In many ways, they’ll be “almost adults” and understand life in no way that a 9 year old could. You’ll do fine, I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

