Why Hannah Marie

Long before we ever became pregnant, we had picked baby names. Luke Stephen for a boy and Adelynn Marie for a girl. When we learned we were having a girl neither of us felt like Adelynn was right. 

We talked and prayed and felt so overwhelmed with the task of becoming parents and naming our daughter. God was entrusting us with a baby. On top of that, a baby GIRL! Instantly I understood why my mom told me a daughter was different than a son (which I definitely didn’t understand when I was a teenager). 

What were we supposed to name this precious little girl? As we talked and prayed and read our bibles it became more and more clear what we were supposed to do. 

Through our journey to become pregnant I studied all of the woman who struggled to have babies in the bible. I became connected to their stories in a new way and related to them like never before. Sarah, Rachel, Hannah, Samson’s mom (who isn’t named) all struggled to have children. The woman I related to most was Hannah. 

Hannah’s story can be found in 1 Samuel 1. In verse 10 the Bible says, “She was deeply distressed and prayed to the Lord and wept bitterly.” I cannot begin to count or remember the number of times I cried out in prayer, wept without words, and struggled with God over wanting a child. 

  
I do not ever want to forget what it took to be blessed with my daughter. I want to be reminded of the struggle and moments where God had to carry me, lift my head, and keep me going. I never want to feel like I did this on my own, because that would be a lie. I had nothing to do with the gift of this baby girl. She is completely from the Lord. 

As I cried telling my husband my feelings about this he said It sounds like we have a name. So we chose Hannah Marie (Marie is mine and my mom’s middle name). Instantly we had a peace about her name and knew that it was God’s name for this precious blessing!

Now, each time I say her name I will be reminded of the amount of prayer that was cried out to the Lord for our sweet baby girl!!!

New Blog Signature

One thought on “Why Hannah Marie

Leave a Reply

