Sharing Our News

Most couples wait weeks before sharing their big news with anyone…months before telling their boss…were we going to be able to keep this a secret?! NO WAY! I barely made it through Thanksgiving Day and about burst when the nurse called to confirm our pregnancy while dress shopping for my sister-in-law’s wedding dress.

On Black Friday, we rushed down to the Perimeter office to have blood work done. On the phone they told us we would find out later that day if the blood work was done before 11:00. We made it there in plenty of time, but the nurse then broke our hearts when she said it would be Saturday afternoon before we would know anything. Saturday AFTERNOON?! I was so disappointed, and mad, but we would wait.

Kyle dropped me off at the bridal shop my sister-in-law was shopping at so that I could be with her during this exciting time in her life. About an hour into her appointment I get a phone call from the doctor’s office. I stepped outside to answer and was shocked when it was the nurse, only three and half hours later, telling us WE WERE PREGNANT! Of course, I immediately called Kyle to tell him and tried not to do my happy dance where my family could see me from inside the shop! We wanted to tell them together, but how was I going to walk back in there and not just explode?

Somehow I made it through the rest of the day without blabbing about it. We then began our planning for how to tell everyone.


Each set of parents (soon to be grandparents) were given one of these at 4 weeks pregnant.



Our siblings had to follow the scavenger hunt clues to find their Christmas ornament announcing their new title of “aunt” and “uncle”right before we were 5 weeks pregnant. My boss actually knew before them. I had a scheduled meeting with him and decided to go ahead and clue him in on why had missed so much work in November.


My grandmothers were each given flower growing kits to reveal the big news at 6 weeks pregnant.


Our youth group found out with this sweet picture on the big screen one Wednesday night at 6 1/2 weeks pregnant.


My coworkers found out in an emailed poem when I was 7 weeks pregnant.

I don’t know of many people who share this kind of information this early on, but we knew that we couldn’t keep that secret after waiting for so long!

How and when did you share about your pregnancy?

New Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

